Faculty of Medicine

The faculty of Medicine was established in 1948 as a branch of the Faculty of Medicine of the Slovak University, later known as Comenius University in Bratislava.

Recent years

The scientific work of the Faculty is divided into many research activities. The research teams are formed from the members of different departments and institutes and they are involved in work on many projects.

The Faculty of Medicine provides 6-year General Medicine and 6-year Dentistry courses awarding the degree Doctor of General Medicine “MUDr.” (the equivalent to the M.D. degree) There is also the possibility of studying 3-years of nursing, as the baccaleureeate study - graduates are awarded the degree Bakalár (Bachelor), abbreviated as "Bc".

The postgraduate study in human medicine is granted in 9 topics: Pharmacology, Normal and Pathological Physiology, Paediatrics, Gynaecology and Obstetrics, Surgery, Internal Medicine. Postgraduate students are currently awarded Ph.D. degree which replaced the former CSc. degree in 1997.